Spotify Treasures: Of Monsters and Men


(Cue 90’s cartoon intro theme) Last time, on Spotify Treasures, our heroes left the realm of Mumford & Sons, where they began their journey. Equipped with their coffee and apple turnovers, they adventured into the land of Ellie Goulding, where they discovered that there is hope for humanity yet. Now that our heroes have seen the silver lining in the music industry, they adventure across the sea. No not to the US, to Iceland! What treasures lie ahead for our heroes when they meet Of Monsters and Men? Find out below!

So like I said above in the awesome introduction, Of Monsters and Men are from Iceland. They’ve been together since 2010 but their debut album didn’t release in the US until this year. You can stream their entire album on Spotify, but you can also buy their album or see them in concert. These guys are one of my favorite bands right now. I love their indie folk/indie pop feel. These upbeat tunes can really make you dance while alone in your room. You don’t do that? Oh me neither… I was just speaking in generalities.

I love Icelandic bands. Sigur Ros is one of my all-time favorites, I loved Jonsi‘s solo album, and now Of Monsters and Men are here to live up to reputation. They’ve been considered to be the next Arcade Fire, which I think is strange because Arcade Fire is from Canada. I do love Arcade Fire though! They are also one of my all-time favorite bands. I seem to have a few of those…

The female vocalist, Nanna Bryndís Hilmarsdóttir, has been compared to Lisa Hannigan, my favorite female artist from Ireland. I do like them both and I as far as I know, they are both single. The male vocalist, Raggi, looks like Sam from Game of Thrones, in my opinion. I think Nanna and Raggi make a duet. It’s what really brings Of Monsters and Men together. If you don’t see a resemblance to Icelandic culture in this band, then watch this video and compare it to videos made by Sigur Ros.

I am very much looking forward to hearing new stuff from them. I’m sure they are tired of singing this one album for a couple years now. If you live in Oregon, California, or Colorado, you could see them in concert because I think they are currently touring the US right now. (Cue 90’s cartoon music again) Tune in next time as our heroes dive deeper into the music industry, on Spotify Treasures!

Leave a Reply

