Spotify Treasures: Ellie Goulding


Before you go any further, pour yourself a cup of coffee, lean back, and relax. Okay don’t lean back because you wouldn’t be able to keep reading. This week I feel like I will be introducing this artist to a few of you. I feel like she is taking the music industry by storm and should be recognized and praised more than she probably is. I am talking about the beautiful Ellie Goulding. Keep reading to listen to a couple of her songs that you should buy, but are also available for streaming on Spotify.

This artist is also from the UK… I know… Two UK artists in a row? Do I not love the good ole’ U.S. of A? Well first of all a few of you may consider me a hipster because I stop listening to things once they are popular, so forgive me for not jamming out to the Top 20 songs everyday. Second of all, I think we need more artists like Ellie Goulding and Mumford & Sons, and fewer artists like One Direction, Justin Bieber, Taylor Swift, and that girl who sings Friday over and over and over… Where was I? Right! Ellie Goulding!!! Back on track.

Okay I had to start with my favorite song, Hanging On, which is actually a cover of band called Active Child, whom I also love. Ellie’s angelic voice is like creamer in my Dunkin Donuts coffee. It’s like the first time you turn on your heater in the fall… Pure magic. It’s like being blinded by Science. I would add more examples but I don’t have all five senses (curse you sulphur gas!!!). Ellie is a perfect balance between electro-pop and indie folk.

Ellie has been writing for a while and has playing songs on YouTube since 2009. She released her debut album, Lights, in 2010 and topped the UK charts. I think the first time I heard her broadcasted in the US was in a gym. Here first album was very popular and Ellie released a few remix albums, one that’s even geared for working out. I’ve definitely felt the urge to work out while listening to it… But that’s it. Why work out when rage quitting burns just as many calories? Do we have any fact checkers here? Debaters have fact checkers, even binders full of women, so why can’t I?… The fact checkers part… uh… I would seem creepy if I had a binder full of women…

Anyone else love her haircut in these videos? With as many collaborations as Ellie was doing and since electro-pop is a gateway genre to dubstep, it was only a matter of time until Ellie Goulding and Skrillex met. A relationship and some songs blossomed from their meeting. They are still currently dating and support each other greatly, which musically I think they are perfect for each other. I think they make a much better couple than those Twilight kids or whoever Taylor Swift just broke up with to make her next album.

Ellie’s new album, Halcyon, released just this October. Her hit song Anything Could Happen is reaching the top charts and is currently in MTV’s top 10. I expect to see a lot more of Ellie Goulding in the future, especially if she covers great songs like Hanging On in her spare time. She is touring the US right now so be sure to check out her touring schedule below. She is playing in Oregon, California, Colorado, Missouri, and many other places outside of Oklahoma so be sure to go and rub it in my face…

LINKS:

Ellie Goulding US Tour Schedule: http://top40-charts.com/news.php?nid=83476

One thought on “Spotify Treasures: Ellie Goulding

  1. Pingback: Spotify Treasures: Of Monsters and Men | frybreadwhitebread

Leave a Reply

