Skyrim: Hearthfire along with Dawnguard PS3 Fail


If you are one of the four other people who play Skyrim on the PS3, then you, like me, are headdesking about the ridiculous delay on the Skyrim DLC, Dawnguard, that still has not released on PS3. If that wasn’t enough of an arrow to the knee, Bethesda has now released details on their next DLC, Hearthfire, which will probably release before PS3 even gets Dawnguard. I’m gonna continue headdesking. You can continue reading for details on Hearthfire, Dawnguard, and the recent patch 1.7 that was released.

As my friend Epwna described, Hearthfire seems like The Sims: Skyrim edition. I do think it’s cool that you can buy land, design and build your house, and create new armor and items. What seems strange to me is being able to adoption children and actually having to feed them and fight off Skeevers. Hearthfire DLC will release on September 4th exclusively on Xbox Live. Just like with Dawnguard, the DLC will release on Xbox Live first, PC later on, and PS3 will probably receive it after the Curiousity Rover lasers the Science out of Mars.

Dawnguard released on Xbox Live two months ago. I pulled my Dovahkiin out of retirement so I could choose to be the ultimate evil or the ultimate good, a vampire lord or a vampire slayer. But before I could saddle up my Shadowmere and warm up my shouts, Bethesda revoked my console Visa. You see, for some reason, PS3 has had many minor issues with Skyrim since the beginning. I remember the game locking up every time I jumped in the water, which makes things difficult when I have to infiltrate a boat and kill the emperor Oh ya, late spoiler alert, whoops. What was originally a 30 day delay caused by the Xbox Live exclusive has now been 60 days with no word from Bethesda as to why there is a delay. It is likely that Xbox 360 gamers will be enjoying Hearthfire before PS3 gamers red-headed step-children can even enjoy Dawnguard. Talk about an arrow to the knee.

One thing that PS3 gamers have been able to enjoy with the rest of the Skyrim world, is the release of the Patch 1.7. This introduces things like mounted combat into the game, which Assassin’s Creed has had for quite a while. It’s cool, but it’s Not Penny’s Boat (Lost reference). Some gamers have proposed the idea that Bethesda could give a discount to PS3 gamers, such as $5 off Dawnguard or even releasing Dawnguard free with the purchase of Hearthfire. This could keep the peace with us four players on Skyrim for the PS3. Bethesda will probably not give into these wishes since they are still a business and like the tin man, does not have a heart. After having to wait this long, I will likely not be purchasing Dawnguard. I am too addicted to Minecraft to slay dragons and vampires anyway. It will probably release for Nintendo before I get to play it.

10 thoughts on “Skyrim: Hearthfire along with Dawnguard PS3 Fail

  1. Yup, I’m a PS3 gamer and this hearthfire / sims expansion looks pretty fun (and it could bring a new thing to do for my NPC blog I’m working on atm), but Bethesda are saying that there are still ‘technical issues’ on dawnguard and they don’t want to release it until it is perfect. I hope they give some kind of discount to compensate for the long wait.

      • That will never happened. Bethesda announced before the game even released that they had struck a deal that would bring all Skyrim DLC content to the Xbox 360 at least a week before everyone else.

          • Yeah I did a quick google and noticed that after I posted. But as it stands, I still predict PS3 will never see a release on the same day as Xbox or PC simply because it doesn’t appear they know how to code the PS3 version.

    • agreed we need something to bring us back to playing skyrim i still play to this day waiting just like when sony was down for months they sold us cheaper dlc gave us free games but i doubt bethesda will do anything at all since magically xbox has no problems this all sounds like bs to me

  2. I would also like to send my sympathies to Europeans who play Skyrim on PS3. I heard you guys even had to wait forever for the Patch 1.7. You really got the short end of the Skyrim stick.

  3. Update from Bethseda: “Earlier in the month, we provided an update on Dawnguard’s status for PS3.

    It’s been a few weeks, and we wanted to make sure everyone knows where we’re at with Dawnguard. Skyrim is a massive and dynamic game that requires a lot of resources, and things get much more complex when you’re talking about sizable content like Dawnguard. We have tried a number of things, but none of them solve the issue enough to make Dawnguard good for everyone. The PS3 is a powerful system, and we’re working hard to deliver the content you guys want. Dawnguard is obviously not the only DLC we’ve been working on either, so the issues of adding content get even more complicated. This is not a problem we’re positive we can solve, but we are working together with Sony to try to bring you this content.

    We wish we had a more definitive answer right now. We understand the frustration when the same content is not available on all platforms. When we have an update, we will certainly let you know. We deeply appreciate all the time and support you have given us, and we’ll keep doing our best to return that.”

Leave a Reply

