It’s Official: I’m Moving to Another Planet


I’ve given up on society.  I thought I had seen all of the stupid things that could possibly come into existence in my time.  But it seems the world set out to collectively prove me wrong.  What started out as a mere fad has now become something much much worse.  I’m, of course, talking about cat videos.  Sure they were harmless enough in the beginning, even cute.  But now some people (MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA!) have decided that enough people hadn’t committed suicide for the first half of the year, so they are holding a cat video festival in a public park.  You probably think I’m kidding, right?  If only I were….hit the jump for an excerpt from the site and a link to buy space shuttle tickets on the next air bus to Jupiter.

While normally viewed alone on a computer screen, our unofficial cat-lady-in-residence invites you to come gather together on the field and LOL in the presence of others as your favorite silly cat videos are projected larger-than-life one after the other.  Experience the joy of a surprised kitten or keyboard cat together. Participate in this experiment that tests the social boundaries of the online community with a live, off-line event as we attempt to gather in physical space and real time to enjoy one of the internet’s most popular phenomena.

That is what the website for the event had to say for itself.  An experiment that tests social boundaries?! I think they are downplaying this event a little.  Homeschoolers gather at public school gyms to “test social boundaries.”  Edward Scissor Hands tested social boundaries.  This goes way beyond such a simple notion.  This will be little less than a bunch of cat freaks coming together to encourage each other to continue their nasty cat collecting habits.  Even this guy thinks it’s stupid:

If only I was, Mr. Jinkles…if only I was….

SOURCE: Official Cat Festival Website

Leave a Reply

